The Latest Names Qualifying for the WWE Cruiserweight Classic

Super Smash Cruiserweight Brawl

Originally posted by Oliver James

Over the weekend two more names qualified for the WWE Cruiserweight Classic, formerly the WWE Global Cruiserweight Series. Following the recent EVOLVE Wrestling iPPV ‘EVOLVE 61’ held in Queens, New York, TJ Perkins and Drew Gulak cemented their place in the 32 man tournament.

The submission’s expert Drew Gulak, one half the current Evolve Wrestling Tag Champions ‘Catch Point’, won his place in the tournament by defeating his current tag team partner ‘Hot Sauce’ Tracey Williams. TJ Perkins, of Suicide/Manik fame whilst in TNA and former X Division Champion, defeated the relatively new Fred Yehi in their bout.

The two join the following list of 9 superstars who have been named and/or qualified already for the tournament:

Zack Sabre Jr. (defated Flash Morgan Webster at PROGRESS Chapter 29)
Jack Gallagher (defeated ‘Bruiserweight’ Pete Morgan at PROGRESS Chapter 29)
Noam Dar (defeated Josh Bodom at Revolution Pro Wrestling Live at the CockPit 8)
Rich Swann
Johnny Gargano
Tommaso Ciampa
Akira Tozawa
Ho Ho Lun
Lince Dorado

With a tournament roster that is already full of talent to make for a memorable series, it is only going to get better if the rumored names of Manny Andrade (formerly La Sombra in CMLL), Will Ospreay (of NJPW), Ricochet (Prince Puma in Lucha Underground) get to enter the fray.

The tournament starts July 13th on the WWE Network.

NewsPast Author
No Comment

Leave a Reply